Welcome Speech for Freshers
Dear New Students,
        Welcome to Chaoyang! You should be happy and proud of yourself when you read this mail because you have become part of the Chaoyang Family. My hearty welcome to all of you!
        The phoenix flowers still bloom and sway in splendor this summer. However, our nation is going through a severe epidemic challenge that makes us unable to embrace and welcome you face to face. We can only express our warmest wishes and care by sending you our well-prepared information to help you quickly adapt to university life. I am sure that once the government has released the epidemic restrictions, you can come to the campus and have a walk. Step on the Red Brick Plaza and get familiar with the environment where you will start your wonderful campus life. But before that, allow me to extend my welcome with this mail. I hope you can take this as a companion in your significant page of life.
        Wufeng is a place with beautiful scenery gathering people and culture. You can enter the Chaoyang campus while walking up to the hill. That is where you realize your dreams. Looking back, Chaoyang has entered its 27th year since its establishment in 1994. Our achievements and impacts in academics and research won recognition in various international rankings. I have to share the recent good news with you here. The university has entered several rankings of the Times Higher Education, including 1000+ in World University Rankings 2021, 400+ in Asia University, 400+ in Young University, 500+ in Emerging Economies, 601-800 in Impact Rankings, 601-800 by the subject of Computer Science and 801-1000 by the subject of Engineering. Besides, we also listed 501-550 in the Quacquarelli Symonds (QS) Asia University Rankings 2021. Locally, we are the best-performed university and enterprises’ favorite private technological university awarded by the Global-View Magazine in 2021. We ranked first in the CommonWealth USR University Citizen Rankings 2021 and the Cheers Magazine granted us the Excellence Performance Award. Theses and dissertations of our faculty and students are cited the most for 9 consecutive years.
        Open yourself to all possibilities in Chaoyang. The bigger your mind, the greater your success. The more perseverance, the stronger your action. Put your attention into learning and work hard constantly night and day. Do good as a student, absorb the best knowledge and experience and learn the proper way of socializing with people. As such, you can ultimately reach your dreams. Starting from today, be the designers of your lives and together we picture our campus with concentration, diligence, and patience. Learn as much as you can because that is your asset in this rapidly changing era. University study is the most beautiful stage of your life. It is also a precious moment for preparing future career and transforming what you have learned into your strengths. The gate and path of Chaoyang are opened right here in front of you. Feel free to explore, discover and dig into it, imbibe the nutrition you need. Sow your saplings of knowledge into the rich soil of Chaoyang and grow as you learn. One day, your flowers will blossom and fruits will bear. Congratulations again to all freshers. I wish you all a happy campus life and an academically fulfilling journey ahead.

President
   Tao-Ming Cheng
2021.06.25

親愛的新同學們:大家好
        當各位展閱這封信時,相信是懷著喜悅與驕傲的心情!這代表著你已成為朝陽大家庭的一員,竭誠歡迎朝陽校園的新鮮人!
        今年初夏,朝陽庭樹鳳凰花開依舊璀璨火紅,但全國正經歷著疫情的嚴峻考驗,揭榜後雖然少了學長姐們面對面張開雙手熱烈歡迎各位的到來,但相關師長的溫馨關懷,以及各系學會備妥的美好周全的新鮮人學習與生活須知等各項資訊隨之寄達。相信只要政府鬆解防疫設限,歡迎你隨時先行走入朝陽校園,親自踏上朝陽特色內庭紅磚廣場,遊覽未來大學生活的空間環境,想像美好大學生活的開展。在此之前,校長特地以公開信函歡迎各位來到朝陽,陪伴你們開啟人生重要的學習里程。
        各位來到人文薈萃風景秀麗的霧峰,走上山崗,邁入朝陽校園,是每位新鮮人圓夢的開始。回首朝陽自83年創校迄今,已邁入第27年,辦學成效在國際各項學術表現與教研影響力評比上,備受肯定。在此與各位分享最近接獲的好消息,那就是本校榮登英國泰晤士高等教育(Times Higher Education)2021年全球最佳大學排名1000+、亞洲最佳大學排名400+、全球年輕大學排名400+、全球新興經濟體大學排名500+、世界大學影響力排名601-800、全球電腦科學領域排名601-800、全球工程領域排名801-1000;英國高等教育調查機構Quacquarelli Symonds (QS) 2021年亞洲地區最佳大學排名 501-550。在國內方面,榮登2021年遠見雜誌「大學聲望調查」年度辦學最佳大學、2021年天下雜誌「天下USR大學公民獎」、2021年遠見雜誌「企業最愛排名」科大第一、2021年Cheers雜誌「大學辦學績效卓越」,以及國家圖書館發表本校師生論文被引用數蟬聯9年冠軍。
        進入朝陽充滿無限的可能,心念有多大,成就的機會就有多高;信念有多堅毅,實踐的量能就有多強,惟仍有賴於個人腳踏實地付出時間努力學習,日夕耕耘不斷地向上提升,做好學生的角色,不斷地充實知能,精進待人接物的禮節,始能獲得實現理想。從今天起,每個人都是自己生命的設計師,要用「專心、用心、耐心」來經營校園的每一天,做好學習的功課,就是在變動時代中做最好的個人資產累積。大學四年是人生中最美麗的階段,同時更是蓄積能量最珍貴的未來謀職預備區間,時時刻刻思量如何將大學四年所學累積的「學力」轉化為日後職場運用的實力。即日起,朝陽這座大學寶山已展現在你的面前,大門敞開,大道鋪陳,任由各位盡情地挖掘、深入探索與自在獲得滋潤成長。祝盼新鮮人在朝陽校園的沃壤上,種上個人的知識樹苗,勤加澆灌,並學會如何自我學習成長,期待他日枝葉扶疏,最終能締結繁花碩果。再次恭賀朝陽新學子,祝福在未來校園的青春歲月璀璨充實!

校長鄭道明   書啟    
2021年6月25日